Timeless Bittersweet 15 Minutes of Fame

Searching for internet glory came my way

Alexander Razin
4 min readSep 20, 2022
Photo by ANTONI SHKRABA production from Pexels

The gruelling task of earning internet fame succeeded. Posting other memes on iFunny took its course; how lucky I am.

I’m 18 and have my first, if not last, taste of success. I hope it will continue, but I’m like everyone else. 15-minutes is all I get.

I was at a friend’s house when the impossible happened.

“I got featured on iFunny. No Way!” I shouted as I stared at my phone. Seeing my post on the featured page sped my heart to a brisk pace. I haven’t felt this way since defeating a taunting boss in a challenging video game.

A bit bemused, my friend attempted to comprehend my excitement. I explained the best I could about my feature on iFunny. Within minutes, he understood. It’s good that he knew about iFunny, or explaining would have been in order.

After I told my friend, he didn’t have the same excitement as me. He instead mocked my bantering since I felt like shouting to the world about my slice of internet glory. So when I left his house, that’s what I did. Shout for praise for a minor victory.

“I’ve been featured on iFunny,” I declared to the barren streets.

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too