SATIRE

The Best Part Of Halloween

Express yourself

Alexander Razin
3 min readOct 31, 2021

--

Image by kalhh from Pixabay

Halloween has come upon us once again. It’s come to my attention that people have dedicated the entire month of October to Halloween. You can see it when young adult women walkout out of Starbucks with their pumpkin spice latte with little pumpkin and bat sprinkles on top.

Yet, Halloween is special for weirdos like me. For one time of the year, I can act like myself without zero consequences. It’s perfect time to use my weirdo powers to blunder the goodies from an unbeknown child.

It’s the thrill I get every Halloween.

I head to the garage and open the gray crate that has all the Halloween masks from the year prior. There’s the grim reaper mask, from the time I lost my Scream mask, so I had to improvise. There’s the Scream mask when I remember I left it in the car.

I keep on digging for the mask, and can’t seem to find it. I tell myself; need to keep searching for it if I want to scare those kids. So, I keep digging deeper into the crate, and lo-and-behold I find the mask. It’s a creepy red and black jester mask I bought at Walmart; during another time, I had to improvise.

I grab the mask with a sinister grin and put in on. I walk out of the garage inchmeal to the street, where I stood as a statue waiting…

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too