Space Jam: A New Legacy Is An Entertaining Advertisement

Sports need branding too

Alexander Razin
3 min readJul 18, 2021
Photo from News Wwc.

It’s early December in the late 90s, and my parents ask three or five-year-old me what I want for Christmas.

Space Jam!” I shouted as I wiggled around with the energy a chubby little kid can muster.

I can’t say for sure if my folks purchased the classic 1996 Space Jam for me on Christmas, but I have the physical VHS copy in my filmography that I binged watch ad nauseam as a kid. I viewed it holding my Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck plush toys (I still have them) tightly as I saw Space Jam for a trillionth time. Anticipation filled the room each time I put Space Jam on; hoping one day for a sequel.

Twenty-five years later, after many attempts to bring Space Jam to the big screen, it’s here, and it’s better than I imagined. I was ready to tear this movie to shreds, but even though it’s thrown in product placement, and flimsy screenplay, Space Jam: A New Legacy kept me entertained. It’s so enthralling, I enjoyed it more than the original.

Space Jam: A New Legacy features the basketball sensation, LeBron James, as he gets absorbed into a computer run by the charismatic Al G Rhythm (hilarious Warner Brothers) played by Don Cheadle who captured LeBron James’ son, so LeBron has no choice but to play a game of…

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too