Night of the Living Costumes

Caught in the middle of an unknown mall event

Alexander Razin
2 min readOct 7, 2021
Image by zoosnow from Pixabay

On a night during the early ‘00s, I was a wee lad accompanying my parents to one place I’m surprised is still around: the mall. I was about five or six when this occurred. It was a time when I was an only child, and the siblings I yearn for would soon come into existence. I’m glad my two brothers are around. They give me a good kick of the teeth to wake me up from the fantasy land I intend to inhabit on any day. Regardless, those times haven’t happened yet, and I can enjoy being an only child and the responsibilities of being older later.

Entering the mall, my parents and I notice something peculiar. Everyone, and I mean everybody, was wearing costumes. It seemed as if we enter a parallel universe where people wore suits instead of the latest fashion. My parents and I couldn’t help but stare in amazement, mouth agape, at all the people’s costumes. We felt naked and wanted to belong, and understand what we missed out on.

It was Halloween, so it made sense why people were wearing costumes. Maybe a few trick-or-treaters must’ve come to the mall to collect candy and walk around. To my knowledge, I didn’t see anyone give out candies, but people’s many costume choices burned in the back of my head. I saw plenty of individuals in Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too