MORTAL KOMBAT MONTH FINALE

Mortal Kombat’s Mainline Games from Greatest to Greatest

My most divisive list yet.

Alexander Razin
11 min readOct 29, 2022

--

Image Credit: Warner Bros. Interactive.

The screen turned black. He got closer. Closer.

Closer.

Frozen, unable to move, he jumped on top of me, splattering my entrails until I became a husk. With what transpired, I wished it had never happened again.

Yet it kept happening. This time I enjoyed it. I’m not insane to appreciate them. It’s only a fatality.

The fatality became the stable in the American fighter, Mortal Kombat. Sequel after sequel, the fatalities reached uncanny levels. They became so real today it’s hard to look. Sadly, this isn’t a list of the best Mortal Kombat fatalities. I should’ve written a list of the best fatalities for Mortal Kombat Month.

Oh, well. Maybe the next anniversary?

To finish celebrating Mortal Kombat’s 30th anniversary, I’ll rank the mainline games from my least favorite to my favorite.

I combined the Mortal Kombat 3 games in this list, as it’s preferable to merge than to mention each game separately. Another rule to the list, fatalities are an integral part of Mortal Kombat; I’ll rate each game’s fatalities using a special fatality meter.

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too