May The Real No Way Home Spider-Man Stand Up?

Alexander Razin
4 min readDec 19, 2021

Yeah, he does whatever a spider can

Image by Disney and Sony.

Stan Lee created something special when he invented Spider-Man. His innovation produced campy cartoons and TV shows to high-budget Hollywood spectacles.

As a kid in the ’00s, I adored Spider-Man. You can walk into my room and see my Spider-Man posters, bed, toys, and furniture. I rode the Spider-Man bandwagon and cruised along even when something else captured my attention. As I write, I’m using my Spider-Man mouse pad.

Sam Raimi’s 2000 Spider-Man trilogy starring Tobey Maguire revamp the interest in Spider-Man, and superhero movies—when audiences and critics treated superhero movies as jokes.

Given the popularity of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), it seemed wise to add Spider-Man. It’s a good thing Disney did; MCU’s Spider-Man films are thrilling and action-packed experiences.

Every MCU Spider-Man seems to top itself in enjoyment, or rather, keeps afloat. The two last films have been charming pieces of cinema that well serve Marvel’s number one hero.

They continued to serve him well by bringing everything full circle. Every action from the last two movies has led us to a happy conclusion that doesn’t need to continue. Disney and Sony don’t need to make more movies; they closed out the film by…

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too