Knowing The Oneness

An experience with faith

Alexander Razin
6 min readApr 13, 2021
Photo by Jonny Gios on Unsplash

Growing up, the catholic christian religion deeply invested my parents. They only worshipped it because other Hispanics/Latinos believed in it. My parents still get ask if they’re catholic because, well, they’re of Mexican descent so they have to practice Catholicism right? Following my parents to every service and congregation, I was skeptical of the catholic faith.

In 2009 and 2018, Christianity found new meaning for me and my parents' life. New meaning changing our lives for many years to come.

It was a cold and gloomy Sunday winter in Texas in 2009. My parents decidedly headed to church as this church became the talk of the town. I for one didn’t want to spend my Sunday listening to someone singing and talk of much they love Jesus. I rather go back home and play my PS3 till the sun does down.

We arrived late to the first service, so my parents patiently waited in the lobby for the following one. As they waited, I scoped the lobby. Two women were sitting at an elevated table, speaking to each other as one ate a muffin with a plastic fork. I notice one guy with glasses contently approach the women, and he game the one eating a muffin a massive hug. This isn’t your usual church, I thought.

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too