I Didn’t Watch TV For a Month, Here’s What Happened.

Decreasing your media consumption isn’t always accurate

Alexander Razin
3 min readMar 31, 2021

December 31, 2020, I sat comfortability in my bed watching Dragon Ball, and hesitantly checking the time to see when midnight strikes. Knowing when January 1, 2021, arrives, streaming is no longer one of my bedtime rituals. As midnight came, I left the comfortable position in my bed to head to the living room to see if my mother is awaiting as well. She sat on the sofa unconsciously watching television. She asked me if I wanted to sit down and watch. I told her no as Dragon Ball was capturing my attention, and the home improvement show she watched was of no interest to me. I’m 25-years-old. Should I like home improvements, hospital dramas, and novellas? (Spanish soap operas) I thought. I’m not sure, but Cartoons still amused me, and I can see geriatric me watching cartoons as the lights go out.

However, I stayed with my mom for a few minutes to end a year that helped me understand the country I inhabit (The United States). And the only way to survive here is to stop living life by the old ways. Go to school, college or job and try to climb up the position ladder. Sadly, this is no longer the case. You can aim for your ambitions, but people around you would say it’s unrealistic, and giving you pep talks to aim for something else as they…

--

--

Alexander Razin

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too